Chapter 1.8

Previous                                                                                                                                          Next

I was back in the temple. The room was darker. The clouds were dark too, and about to turn into a full raging storm.

Standing in front of me was Lucy. She was smiling, if only slightly.

“I guess you already know what I’m going to ask you then?”

“Yes. And you know I have no answers for you.”

I sighed.

“Please, just this once, make things easier for me. I need to be able to trust my mind for the journey. I need to able to trust my mind for the time after. I can’t do that when I’m doubting whether what I’m seeing is real.”

She put a hand on my shoulder.

“I wish I could. I really do.”

“Please.”

“I’m sorry, but I can’t. I just can’t.”

“Why?”

“I can’t tell you that either, John.”

“The least you could do is lie, you know? That way I could go on as usual, not doubting myself .”

“I actually considered it. But we both know that you would have seen through the lie, and that would just make things more complicated than they already are.”

“Then do something! So that I won’t be doubting myself at every turn, especially when the event is nearing!”

“I may be able to make a compromise, but just this once. But you have to promise something, okay?”

“Promise what?”

“Promise that you will hang on to your new friends.”

A little odd… but sure. I could work with that.

“I promise, that I will hang on to my new friends.”

Her smile grew, only a little. She seemed a little relieved, and a bit happy.

“Good. I am real. Always have been. You don’t have to doubt yourself. And soon, I’ll be able to prove it.”

Now it was my turn to be relieved. I didn’t come here for answers, not really. I just wanted some assurance. And I had gotten it. And then some. Finally, I could be sure of myself when it came to Lucy.

I felt a sort of weight lifting of me. One I hadn’t realized was there.

“Wake him up, John. I need to tell him something.”

I frowned.

“But…. fine. I’ll do it.”

I closed my eyes.

Memories flooded. After a few seconds, they stopped. Time slowed, down to nanoseconds. Or rather, I grew.

Months passed. Actually, it was five seconds. I slowed my mind down. Time sped up.

Then, when I opened them again, I wasn’t me. Well… I was me, but I was better. And I had access to all of my memories, and hence a slightly different mind, because of more experience.

I split into five clones.

Since this was a mental representation, it made sense that when I split myself for multitasking, I would actually split.

Each were five times less faster than the full version of me, but were still fast. My processing powers were beyond the limits of my own imagination. Not joking, I don’t know my limits.

Each part had their own task. One for observing Lucy’s body language, one to observe the landscape, one to think ahead, mapping out the scenarios in his head, one to access threat, and one to manage each thread. And I, was the consciousness of them.

“Yes?” My clones spoke together.

“There are other entities. Many of them are thousands of times more powerful than me. There stands one, which is the most powerful. It can see the entire timeline. It sees our destiny. It also has the power to change it. Your powers, came from it. I, am one of its creations. I’m meant to protect you, to guide you. I’m your guardian angel. I’m connected to you, in the literal sense. I am just a extension of you. But you, are much more important. You need to know that. You need to know your actions affect everything. You need to choose your actions carefully, because, after the event, they’re what shapes the future. I was given glimpses, glimpses of the future. I’ve seen what you could do, so do not underestimate yourself.”

I nodded.

“You are going to need all the help you can get. That’s why I’m trying to breach the barrier. But in the mean time, you have to lean on to your new friends. They have a important stance in the future. I have to go. I won’t be around for the next month. That’s why I’m telling you this. Take care of yourself, John.”

I gave a small nod.

After a flurry of purple, violet, red, and orange light, she was gone.

I put myself together again, the clones pulling into the original.

She was gone, but I wasn’t. Intresting.

The sky was clear. The room bright again.

Previous                                                                                                                                          Next

Leave a Reply

