Chapter 2.3

Previous                                                                                                                                          Next

Author’s note: I know I’ve been delivery a little late recently, so I’ve decided to pass out chapters a bit faster. I’ve already written the chapters, the problem was getting it out. Darn the damn wifi.

 

So I did. I reached out, and dived into her memories. I not only experienced her memories, but the thoughts and feelings along with them.

***

I sat upon the edge of the roof, knowing that if I leaned too much I could fall to my death. I stopped caring about that a long time ago. Not because I didn’t fear death, but because I simply enjoyed this feeling, the feeling of being free, and overwhelmed by the beauty.

The clear sky only made it better. Down below, people walked along with their friends, enjoying life as it was. The light was a warm embrace in the cold temperatures of Till. The sun was to the right, which was too bright to look at.

It was all bright. I kept my arms and feet close together to keep myself warm, yet I didn’t mind the cold. My scarf blew in the wind. I brushed my hair back in place.

“Excuse me?” A voice came from behind.

She turned around to find a slightly puzzled boy staring at her. He had strange violet eyes.

“Yes?” I asked the strange boy.

“I don’t think you’re allowed here.” He said.

“No? What are you doing here, then?”

“My parents own this building.”

“I didn’t ask you who owned this building, I asked you what you were doing here.”

“I like the view.” Was his simple, yet confusing reply.

She arched an eyebrow at him. Though she felt herself become slightly interested in him.

“Well I like the view, too, so I think I’m going to stay.”

“Would you mind if I sat beside you, then?”

Would I?  I had a fear that, if I shared this, it wouldn’t be the same.I knew it was irrational, but still… On the other hand, I didn’t want to say no, because I didn’t want to be rude. After all, I didn’t own this building, and he did. Well, his parents did.

“No, I don’t.” I said.

I still had that doubt… but I pushed it away. It would only be corrupted if I thought of it as corrupted.

The boy came and sat down next to me, saying nothing else.

I didn’t feel intruded or imposed on, because I don’t think the boy was here. Not mentally here, anyway. He seemed way out of it. I could see a small smile forming on his face as he thought.

I couldn’t spend the next minute as I normally spend my time on the roof, because my mind kept wandering over to the boy.

Finally, I decided to ask him,

“What’s your name?”

The boy’s reaction was that of when being pulled out of a thought.

“Huh?” He said, not having listened to my words.

“What’s your name?”

“John.” He said.

That’s it. Nothing else. It was as if the boy didn’t know how to talk to people. Yet he seemed to intrigue me.

“I’m Hannah. Hannah Stern.”

He smiled, and said,

“Nice to meet you, Hannah Smith.”

“Nice to meet you too.”

What intrigued me more, was that he didn’t say it like he was saying it out of courtesy, but as if he was speaking a thought. Everything he seemed to do intrigued me.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have any idea of what to say next, so I just asked,

“What do your parents do for a living?”

“Real estate.”

He said that as if he hadn’t just told me that his parents owned this building.

None of my attempts of striking up a conversation with this boy seemed to work. Maybe I wasn’t asking him about something that interested him. But I had no idea what he was interested him. Huh…

“So, tell me, why do you like seeing the view?”

It worked. His face lit up with interest.

“Because I feel that I’m truly myself, here. I see the creation of our kind, humanity, and see the beauty…” His gaze passed over the buildings, then to something else that wasn’t there, “It’s just amazing. Amazing what we can do, if given a chance. I like to look at each building, and see the hidden truth behind them. But more than that, I see the things no one else does. I see how I can make them better. So I like coming out here, because someday, some of these buildings, will be my creations. And they will be like no other.”

I couldn’t believe it. I couldn’t believe, what I had just heard, with my own ears. I couldn’t believe that, someone could find that much meaning, in buildings. And that it was a thirteen year old kid.

Or fourteen.

And while my mind was still debating whether he was lying or not, his mind left the physical realm, again.

I looked at my watch, suddenly reminded that I needed to get home before five, to finish off my homework. And shit, it was five fifteen.

I wanted to find out more about this strange boy, so I nudged him with my elbow, and while I had his attention, I said,

“Be back here tomorrow, at the same time. Wait no, be here at four, and bring some snacks!” I said as I rushed off, not waiting for an answer.

Before I went into the elevator, I caught a brief glance of his puzzled face, giving me a nod. There was a small part of me inside, telling me that he wouldn’t come, but I ignored it. I shouldn’t base everything on past experiences.

Previous                                                                                                                                          Next

Leave a Reply

